Contact

FAQ and glossary

These terms are part of the vocabulary of the sustainable circular economy, the methods and parameters used and are used repeatedly on our website. For this reason, we explain some of the most important and most frequently used terms here. We also answer the most common questions about sustainable circular economy.

Sustainable circular economy

The circular economy is a regenerative economic system that requires a paradigm shift to replace the concept of "end of life" with reduction (Reduce), alternative reuse (Reuse), recycling and recovery of materials (Recover) throughout the supply chain. It aims to promote value conservation and three-dimensional sustainable development. This is made possible by an alliance of stakeholders (industry, consumers, policy makers, academia) and their technological innovations and competencies.

Recyclability

A product or packaging is recyclable if its components can be returned to their original state using industrially available processes and a collection and recycling system exists for them. Recycling can replace virgin material on an equivalent market.

Chemical recycling

Chemical recycling involves returning substances to their original form. For example, the monomers used in production can be recovered from plastics. There are numerous processes that are counted as chemical recycling. What they have in common is that chemical bonds are dissolved. Enzymes, solvents, temperature and other methods can be used. These processes are usually energy-intensive, but conserve resources.

Material flow analysis MFA

Material flow analysis shows flows and stocks of different materials or products within a defined system (e.g. company, country, world). The systematic recording of material flows and storage simplifies the overview and enables the understanding of complex systems, such as waste systems. Knowledge of the transformation, transport and storage of valuable and hazardous materials gained through MFA forms the basis for identifying both resource potentials and risks to human health and the environment.

Life Cycle Assessment (LCA)

A life cycle assessment (LCA) is a compilation and evaluation of the inputs, outputs and potential environmental impacts of a product system throughout its life cycle*. Therefore, LCA is one of the most important tools to describe and improve the sustainability of a product.  

An LCA consists of four steps. In the first step, the target and system boundaries are defined. In the second step, all inputs and outputs of the investigated product system are collected. Then, in the third step, environmental impacts are offset against the inputs and outputs to calculate the environmental impacts of the product system. In this step, it can be selected which so-called impact category (e.g. impact on climate change, impact on ozone layer depletion, impact on human or ecotoxicity, etc.) should be considered. In the fourth step, the results are interpreted and put into context.

*Definition according to International Organization for Standardization (ISO), The New International Standards for Life Cycle Assessment: ISO 14040 and ISO 14044 (ISO, Geneva, Switzerland, 2006).

Mechanical recycling of plastics

In mechanical recycling, plastic waste is turned into secondary raw material. In this process, the plastic products are first mechanically shredded, often washed to remove food residues, for example, and then melted. When melted in an extruder, plastic pellets can then be produced again. One challenge in the mechanical recycling of plastics is that the melting down of different polymers can have a strong negative impact on their properties. For example, a proportion of PE in PP recycling can impair the properties of the PP recyclate to such an extent that the recyclate can no longer be used afterwards. An important step for a successful mechanical recycling of plastics is therefore a clean, preceding sorting according to polymer types.

Design for Recycling, D4R

Design 4 Recycling, D4R, is a term for rethinking products. In the design process, attention is paid not only to the function of a product or packaging, but also to its recyclability. D4R is thus one of the most important steps on the way to a circular economy.

There are various guidelines for plastic packaging and other products that indicate when a product is recyclable.

Bioplastic

Bioplastics come in different forms. On the one hand, there are biobased plastics, where the raw material from which the plastic is made is renewable. On the other hand, there are biodegradable plastics. Here, either additives are added to the plastic that accelerate the rate of degradation, or the plastic itself consists of compounds that degrade more easily than conventional plastic. The following graphic provides an overview of the possible combinations with examples of which plastics belong in which category.

Sustainability

Sustainability originally meant that something does not exceed the natural regenerative capacity of a system. Today, the term encompasses the 3-pillar model of sustainable development. Sustainable development means meeting the needs of the present in a way that does not limit the opportunities of future generations. It is important to consider all three dimensions of sustainability - economically efficient, socially just, ecologically viable - on an equal footing.

Digital Product Passport, DPP

The digital product passport (DPP) is intended to increase the transparency of products. It typically consists of a data carrier (QR code, RFID chip, NFC chip) and a database. With the help of the DPP, consumers will receive information on materials, maintenance and recycling paths at the end of a product's life. On the other hand, the DPP should make it possible to recycle products, as the composition can be read out at the recycler with little effort.

Is the circular economy always sustainable?

Circular economy is one of the most important concepts that can contribute to sustainability. However, an assessment of the impact on sustainability is extremely important, because it may come as a surprise, but circular economy is not sustainable per se. For example, pollutants can accumulate in material cycles (recall the case of elevated heavy metal concentrations in children's toys). Or a new refrigerator makes more sense than repairing the old appliance because of increased energy efficiency. Or reusable alternatives, which are used only 3 times instead of 50.

What are the differences between material, theoretical and actual recyclability?
  • Material recyclability of the packaging components: A process exists by which the used material can be returned to its original state (e.g. melting process).
  • Theoretical recyclability of a product: In addition to material recyclability, theoretical recyclability defines that a product consists of a mix of materials (incl. labels, lids, etc.) that can be recycled. If the product is a composite product (e.g. composite packaging such as multilayer plastic packaging), it must be possible to break down the product into its materials, whereby material recyclability applies to all partial materials.
  • Actual recyclability of a product: In addition to theoretical recyclability, a collection and recovery system must be available in which the materials can be processed into high-quality secondary raw materials within a geographically reasonable radius. The secondary raw material must make up >70% of the input material, be of high quality (free of pollutants and with the same physical properties as the primary material as far as possible) and enable local recycling.
Are bioplastics more sustainable than conventional plastics?

Bioplastics (internal link to glossary), whether biodegradable or biobased, are not per se more sustainable than conventional plastics. On the contrary, new problems may arise in composting or recycling. Nevertheless, bioplastics can have advantages over fossil-based plastics in certain situations.

title="Kontaktieren

Good afternoon,
Nice to have you here!

We are delighted that you are interested in news about sustainable circular economy and realcycle. See you soon!
Your realcycle team.

We do not spam! Read our privacy policy for more information.

Contact

FAQ et glossaire

Ces termes font partie du vocabulaire de l'économie circulaire durable, des méthodes et des paramètres utilisés et reviennent souvent sur notre site web. C'est pourquoi nous expliquons ici quelques-uns des plus importants et des plus utilisés. Nous répondons également aux questions les plus fréquentes sur economie circulaire durable.

Économie circulaire durable

L'économie circulaire est un système économique régénérateur qui nécessite un changement de paradigme afin de remplacer le concept de "fin de vie" par la réduction (Reduce), la réutilisation alternative (Reuse), le recyclage et la récupération des matériaux (Recover) tout au long de la chaîne d'approvisionnement. Elle poursuit l'objectif de promouvoir la conservation de la valeur et le développement durable tridimensionnel. Cela est rendu possible grâce à une alliance de parties prenantes (industrie, consommateurs, décideurs politiques, universités) et à leurs innovations technologiques et compétences.

Recyclabilité

Un produit ou un emballage est recyclable lorsque ses composants peuvent être ramenés à leur état initial par des procédés disponibles dans l'industrie et qu'il existe pour eux un système de collecte et de recyclage. Le recyclage permet de remplacer un produit neuf sur un marché équivalent.

Recyclage chimique

Le recyclage chimique consiste à redonner aux substances leur forme initiale. Par exemple, les monomères utilisés dans la fabrication des plastiques peuvent être récupérés. Il existe de nombreux procédés qui relèvent du recyclage chimique. Leur point commun est la dissolution des liaisons chimiques. Pour ce faire, on peut utiliser des enzymes, des solvants, la température et d'autres méthodes. La plupart du temps, ces procédés sont gourmands en énergie, mais ils permettent de préserver les ressources.

Analyse des flux de matières AMF

L'analyse des flux de matières montre les flux et les stocks de différents matériaux ou produits au sein d'un système défini (p. ex. entreprise, pays, monde). L'enregistrement systématique des flux et des stocks de matières simplifie la vue d'ensemble et permet de comprendre des systèmes complexes, tels que les systèmes de déchets. Les connaissances acquises par l'AMF sur la transformation, le transport et le stockage de matières précieuses et dangereuses constituent la base de l'identification des ressources potentielles et des risques pour la santé humaine et l'environnement.

Life Cycle Assessment (LCA), analyse du cycle de vie

L'analyse du cycle de vie (ACV) ou l'analyse du cycle de vie (ACV) est une compilation et une évaluation des intrants, des extrants et des impacts environnementaux potentiels d'un système de produits tout au long de son cycle de vie*. L'ACV est donc l'un des outils les plus importants pour décrire et améliorer la durabilité d'un produit.  

Une ACV se compose de quatre étapes. La première étape consiste à définir l'objectif et les limites du système. La deuxième étape consiste à rassembler tous les intrants et les extrants du système de produits étudié. Ensuite, lors de la troisième étape, les impacts environnementaux sont comparés aux intrants et aux extrants afin de calculer l'impact environnemental du système de produits. Lors de cette étape, il est possible de choisir la catégorie d'impact à prendre en compte (p. ex. impact sur le changement climatique, impact sur l'appauvrissement de la couche d'ozone, impact sur la toxicité humaine ou écologique, etc. La quatrième étape consiste à interpréter les résultats et à les mettre en contexte.

*Définition selon l'International Organization for Standardization (ISO), The New International Standards for Life Cycle Assessment : ISO 14040 and ISO 14044 (ISO, Genève, Suisse, 2006).

Recyclage mécanique des plastiques

Le recyclage mécanique consiste à valoriser les déchets plastiques en matière première secondaire. Les produits en plastique sont d'abord broyés mécaniquement, souvent lavés pour éliminer par exemple les résidus de produits alimentaires, puis fondus. La fusion dans l'extrudeuse permet ensuite de produire à nouveau des granulés de plastique. L'un des défis du recyclage mécanique des plastiques est que la fusion de différents polymères peut avoir un impact négatif important sur leurs propriétés. Par exemple, une part de PE dans le recyclage du PP peut affecter les propriétés du PP recyclé à tel point que le produit recyclé ne peut plus être utilisé par la suite. Une étape importante pour un recyclage mécanique réussi des plastiques est donc un tri préalable propre par type de polymère.

Design for Recycling, D4R

Design 4 Recycling, D4R, est un terme qui désigne le fait de repenser les produits. Dans ce contexte, le design ne se concentre pas uniquement sur la fonction d'un produit ou d'un emballage, mais également sur sa capacité à être recyclé. D4R est donc l'une des étapes les plus importantes sur la voie d'une économie circulaire.

Il existe différentes directives pour les emballages plastiques et autres produits, qui indiquent quand un produit est recyclable.

Bioplastique

Les bioplastiques existent sous différentes formes. D'une part, il y a les plastiques biosourcés, pour lesquels la matière première à partir de laquelle le plastique est fabriqué est renouvelable. D'autre part, il existe des plastiques biodégradables. Dans ce cas, soit des additifs sont ajoutés au plastique pour accélérer le taux de dégradation, soit le plastique lui-même est composé de composés qui se dégradent plus facilement que le plastique traditionnel. Le graphique suivant donne un aperçu des combinaisons possibles, avec des exemples de plastiques appartenant à telle ou telle catégorie.

Durabilité

A l'origine, la durabilité signifiait que quelque chose ne dépassait pas la capacité de régénération naturelle d'un système. Aujourd'hui, le terme englobe le modèle des trois piliers du développement durable. Le développement durable consiste à satisfaire les besoins du présent de manière à ne pas limiter les possibilités des générations futures. Il est important de considérer les trois dimensions de la durabilité - économiquement efficace, socialement équitable, écologiquement viable - sur un pied d'égalité.

Passeport de produit numérique, DPP

Le passeport produit numérique, DPP, (en anglais digital product passport, DPP) doit conduire à une plus grande transparence des produits. Il se compose généralement d'un support de données (code QR, puce RFID, puce NFC) et d'une base de données. Le DPP doit d'une part permettre aux consommateurs d'obtenir des informations sur les matériaux, l'entretien et les filières de recyclage en fin de vie des produits. D'autre part, le DPP doit permettre le recyclage des produits en permettant de lire à peu de frais la composition chez le recycleur.

L'économie circulaire est-elle toujours durable ?

L'économie circulaire est l'un des principaux concepts qui peuvent contribuer à la durabilité. Cependant, il est extrêmement important d'examiner les effets sur la durabilité, car cela peut surprendre, mais l'économie circulaire n'est pas durable en soi. Ainsi, des substances nocives peuvent s'accumuler dans les cycles de matériaux (on se souvient du cas de la concentration élevée de métaux lourds dans les jouets pour enfants). Ou un nouveau réfrigérateur est plus judicieux que la réparation de l'ancien appareil en raison d'une efficacité énergétique accrue. Ou des alternatives réutilisables qui ne sont utilisées que trois fois au lieu de 50.

Quelles sont les différences entre la recyclabilité matérielle, la recyclabilité théorique et la recyclabilité réelle ?
  • Recyclabilité matérielle des composants de l'emballage : Il existe un procédé permettant de remettre le matériau usagé dans son état d'origine (par exemple, processus de fusion).
  • Recyclabilité théorique d'un produit : en plus de la recyclabilité matérielle, la recyclabilité théorique définit qu'un produit est composé d'un mélange de matériaux (y compris les étiquettes, les couvercles, etc.) qui peut être recyclé. S'il s'agit d'un produit composite (par exemple, des emballages composites tels que des emballages plastiques multicouches), le produit doit pouvoir être décomposé en ses matériaux, la recyclabilité matérielle s'appliquant à tous les matériaux partiels.
  • Recyclabilité effective d'un produit : en plus de la recyclabilité théorique, il doit exister un système de collecte et de valorisation dans lequel les matériaux peuvent être transformés en matières premières secondaires de haute qualité dans un rayon géographiquement raisonnable. La matière première secondaire doit représenter >70% du matériau d'entrée, être de haute qualité (exempte de substances nocives et présentant si possible les mêmes propriétés physiques que le matériau primaire) et permettre une fermeture locale du cycle.
Les bioplastiques sont-ils plus durables que les plastiques conventionnels ?

Les bioplastiques (lien interne vers le glossaire), qu'ils soient biodégradables ou biosourcés, ne sont pas en soi plus durables que les plastiques conventionnels. Au contraire, de nouveaux problèmes peuvent apparaître lors du compostage ou du recyclage. Néanmoins, dans certaines situations, les bioplastiques peuvent présenter des avantages par rapport aux plastiques à base fossile.

title="Kontaktieren

Bonjour,
Merci d'être venu !

Nous sommes heureux que vous vous intéressiez aux nouveautés concernant economie circulaire durable et realcycle. A bientôt !
Votre équipe realcycle.

Nous ne spammons pas ! Lisez notre déclaration de confidentialité pour plus d'informations.